Asia Live exemplifies a truly scrumptious experience of a buffet!

Standard

As the name suggests, Asia Live brings Asian fare from various regions to your table. Popular dishes from Thailand, Japan, China, Pakistan, Malaysia and others in the territory come together to give you are a truly satisfying buffet experience.

Asia Live’s Sunday Munch has been around for some time and is a sophisticated place to dine out with family or friends. I went there with my little one and we started our culinary adventure before we even reached the table. The open kitchen was a pleasant introduction to the legendary creations of the Sunday Munch. With such a massive spread, we did not have to suffer the choices at some sorry buffets we get to see elsewhere. Instead, what to choose and where to begin was the challenge tormenting us!

The restaurant is bright and spacious with seating for more than 150 patrons. Its impressive picture window gives gorgeous views of the pool – stunning greens and blues – see picture below.Image

Image

I made an immediate beehive for the salad bar and was bowled over with the fantastic and freshest food before my eyes. It is by far, the best I have ever tasted. Pickled beets, hummus, tabbouleh, baba ghanoush (perfect seasoning and smoky taste), fresh vegetables, dolmas, apple and cabbage salad, fresh grated carrots with coconut, chicken salad, beef salad – whoa variety! – Trust me I had to muster every ounce of willpower to pull myself away from this table.

Image

Image

Image

Whetting my appetite, I finally gave into my carnivore’s cravings and made a dash for the carving station at the European corner (don’t understand why that was a part of the deal, nonetheless, satisfying selection!). We started with a slice of the Beef Wellington with gravy. The Beef Wellington’s crust was perfectly flaky and its tenderloin melted in my mouth. Then there was shawarma, beef steak, char grilled breast of chicken, wiener schinitzel, live pasta (make-your-own-kind), and pizza. Everything top-notch, testimony is the fact that my kid seemed to eat more than me!

Image

Image

Image

The Pakistani section had everything a person could dream about – maghaz beef nihari, murgh dilruba, chicken haleem (I kid you not, this haleem, I could pay the entire buffet charges for this one dish only, it’s THAT delicious!), seekh kebab, mutton paya kunna, nouratan biryani, lamb ouzi and halwa puri. This was my first time trying a roasted lamb ouzi and it was fit for a king! Succulent meat, nuts and perfectly puffed rice. Definitely, a must visit for the older generations.

Image

Image

Image

Other things that I tried before giving in to dessert was the Thai red duck and pineapple curry (sadly, this was one thing I didn’t like), Chittagong prawn curry (exploding with flavors), the very famous teriyaki and garlic fried rice, beef teppenyaki, prawn and vegetable tempura, stir fried beef with black pepper sauce (yummy!) and fish in honey chili sauce and the brilliant sushi boat with pickled ginger and wasabi). I didn’t get to try the asparagus soup and chicken sio mai (dumplings) but they looked great.Image

Image

Image

Image

The whole shebang was excellent but the dessert island too hard to ignore. Being anti discriminatory with confection, I thought it best to try the entire exhibition on offer. My favorite and what almost spoiled me for the rest of the desserts was the chocolate fountain with marshmallows, fresh fruit and cream puffs. Baklava, croissants, munchkins, mousse, icecream and jello are some of from that arrangement that I managed to test. The star of the show was jalebi with milk and nuts. And if you want to know how good it was, you must book your table and get a taste for yourself!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Winding up, if you are heading for a cheap eat, then Sunday Munch is not for you. The cost of this five-star brunch and ambiance is roughly Rs. 2,000, inclusive of taxes, per head . The only suggestion I have for the management is to kiss goodbye their ‘live’ band – which is honestly, less entertainment and more of an annoyance!

For more pictures: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.319320551500659.68522.280401308725917&type=3

3 responses »

  1. I feel this is one of the so much important information for
    me. And i’m happy studying your article. But should statement on few normal things, The website style is great, the articles is really excellent : D. Just right job, cheers

Leave a comment